Think before you post

I had a few hours off this afternoon (change in shifts) and needed to get warm after walking dogs this morning (it’s been in the 20s, with wind chill in the teens or single digits), so I went to the library and got online. I found an article my Mom might find interesting, so I posted it to her Facebook wall, and I checked in on some groups and some of my favorite people. One of my friends posted an interesting graphic about protein in vegetables, and since I’m a vegetarian, I decided to share it. Unfortunately, I did not check my facts before posting, and one of my college classmates, who happens to have a medical and scientific background, pointed out that it was inaccurate due to the fact that protein is measured as dry weight and vegetables tend to be mostly water. I took his word for it and took the graphic down, but not before I saw two of my friends, who’ve never met and are separated by an ocean and several thousand miles, get into an argument. I know I said in “The List of Awesome” that I like watching my Facebook friends interact, but I dislike name-calling and ignorant behavior. I’m too old to start a fight just for the sake of watching the fireworks, and I deal with enough real drama not to want it in my non-work life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Friends, Life, the Universe and Everything, That's So Pomo, Writing

Leave a comment